{
    "case_number": "CAC-UDRP-108626",
    "time_of_filling": "2026-05-12 09:19:44",
    "domain_names": [
        "lyondellbasell-us.com"
    ],
    "case_administrator": "  Iveta Špiclová   (Czech Arbitration Court) (Case admin)",
    "complainant": [
        "LyondellBasell Industries Holdings B.V.  "
    ],
    "complainant_representative": "Claudio Tamburrino (Barzanò & Zanardo S.p.A.)",
    "respondent": [
        "Lisa Griffin"
    ],
    "respondent_representative": null,
    "factual_background": "<p><span>The Complainant, LyondellBasell Group (referred to as LYONDELLBASELL), is a multinational chemical company with European and American roots dating back to 1953, when scientists from its predecessor companies, Professor Karl Ziegler and Giulio Natta, who were jointly awarded the Nobel Prize in Chemistry in 1963, made groundbreaking discoveries in the development of polyethylene (PE) and polypropylene (PP). Since then, the Complainant has grown to become the world's third largest plastics, chemicals, and refining company, as well as the largest licensor of polyethylene and polypropylene technologies worldwide.<\/span><\/p>\n<p><span>The Complainant employs more than 20,300 people globally and operates 75 manufacturing sites across 20 countries, with its products sold in approximately 100 countries. According to its 2024 annual report, the Complainant generated USD 1.4 billion in net income and an EBITDA of USD 4.3 billion. The Complainant has been listed on the New York Stock Exchange since 2010. On December 20, 2017, the company celebrated the tenth anniversary of the merger between Lyondell Chemical Company and Basell AF SCA, a transaction that created one of the largest plastics, chemicals, and refining companies in the world. The Complainant comprises a number of affiliated companies, all under the ultimate control of LyondellBasell Industries N.V., headquartered in the Netherlands.<\/span><\/p>\n<p><span>The disputed domain name was registered on April 19, 2026, and currently resolves to a webpage that redirects to a website <em>prima facie<\/em> dedicated to yoga. Furthermore, the disputed domain name is configured to exchange electronic mail.<\/span><\/p>",
    "other_legal_proceedings": "<p>The Panel is not aware of any other legal proceedings which are pending or decided and which relate to the disputed domain name.<\/p>",
    "no_response_filed": "<p><span>COMPLAINANT:<\/span><\/p>\n<p><span>The Complainant contends that the requirements of the Policy have been met and that the disputed domain name should be transferred to it.<\/span><\/p>\n<p><span>(i) The Complainant has rights in the LYONDELLBASELL mark as identified in the section entitled &ldquo;Identification of Rights.&rdquo; The disputed domain name is confusingly similar to the Complainant&rsquo;s LYONDELLBASELL mark because it incorporates the LYONDELLBASELL mark in its entirety, with the mere addition of the letters &ldquo;us,&rdquo; which indicate a specific country, the United States, separated from the trademark LYONDELLBASELL by a hyphen, and the &ldquo;.com&rdquo; gTLD.<\/span><\/p>\n<p>(ii) The Respondent has no rights or legitimate interests in respect of the disputed domain name. The Respondent has no relationship whatsoever with the Complainant, nor has the Complainant ever granted the Respondent any rights to use the LYONDELLBASELL trademark in any form, including in the disputed domain name. There is no evidence that the Respondent has acquired any rights in a trademark or trade name corresponding to the disputed domain name. The Respondent is neither using the disputed domain name for any bona fide offering of goods or services, nor for any legitimate noncommercial or fair use. Instead, the disputed domain name does not resolve to an active website, but is configured to send e-mails, thereby indicating that it has been registered for phishing activities and spoofing purposes.<\/p>\n<p>(iii) The Respondent has registered and is using the disputed domain name in bad faith. The Respondent registered and has been using the disputed domain name with actual knowledge of the Complainant&rsquo;s rights in the LYONDELLBASELL mark. The mere registration of a domain name that is confusingly similar to the Complainant&rsquo;s well-known trademark can, in itself, create a presumption of bad faith. Although the disputed domain name does not resolve to an active website but is currently redirected to a website prima facie dedicated to yoga, the corresponding website is clearly only an attempt to create arguments to contest the Complainant's claim of bad faith use, inasmuch as the website does not work. Furthermore, the disputed domain name is set up to send e-mails. Considering the e-mail account @the disputed domain name, it is impossible to consider any legitimate use, and it is highly probable that such accounts have been created to send scam e-mails to the complainant&rsquo;s clients. Thus, the Respondent has intentionally attempted to mislead Internet users who receive e-mails from an account at the disputed domain name, by creating a likelihood of confusion with the Complainant and its marks, pursuant to paragraph 4(b)(iv) of the UDRP Policy.<\/p>\n<p><span>RESPONDENT:<\/span><\/p>\n<p>No administratively compliant Response has been filed.<\/p>",
    "rights": "<p>The Complainant has, to the satisfaction of the Panel, shown the disputed domain name is identical or confusingly similar to a trademark or service mark in which the Complainant has rights (within the meaning of paragraph 4(a)(i) of the Policy).<\/p>",
    "no_rights_or_legitimate_interests": "<p>The Complainant has, to the satisfaction of the Panel, shown the Respondent to have no rights or legitimate interests in respect of the disputed domain name (within the meaning of paragraph 4(a)(ii) of the Policy).<\/p>",
    "bad_faith": "<p>The Complainant has, to the satisfaction of the Panel, shown the disputed domain name has been registered and is being used in bad faith (within the meaning of paragraph 4(a)(iii) of the Policy).<\/p>",
    "procedural_factors": "<p>The Panel is satisfied that all procedural requirements under UDRP were met and there is no other reason why it would be inappropriate to provide a decision.<\/p>",
    "decision": "Accepted",
    "panelists": [
        "Mr. Ho-Hyun Nahm Esq."
    ],
    "date_of_panel_decision": "2026-06-04 00:00:00",
    "informal_english_translation": "<p><span>The Complainant, LyondellBasell Industries Holdings B.V., is the owner of the well-known trademark LYONDELLBASELL in several classes worldwide, including:<br \/><\/span><\/p>\n<p>- US Trademark Reg. No. 3634012, registered on May 7, 2008, in classes 1, 4, 17, 35, 42; and<\/p>\n<p>- European Union Trademark (EUTM) Reg. No. 006943518, registered on May 16, 2008, in classes 1, 4, 17, 42, 45.<\/p>",
    "decision_domains": {
        "lyondellbasell-us.com": "TRANSFERRED"
    },
    "panelist": null,
    "panellists_text": null
}